At St. Wilfrid’s, all of our children will study the 2014 National Curriculum for both core and foundation subjects.


In Nursery and Reception, children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Development Matters. It includes the following key areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development 
  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design 
  • Wider Experiences

These areas underpin the organisation of the learning environment, the activities provided for children and the monitoring of children's progress and development.

KS1 and KS2

In Key Stage One and Key Stage Two, children are taught the standards and skills required in the 2014 National Curriculum for both core (English, Mathematics and Science) and foundation subjects (History, Geography, Computing, Music, Art, Design and Technology, Physical Education, RSE, Religious Education and Modern Foreign Language).

At St. Wilfrid’s we have endeavoured to ensure that all learning is matched to the individual needs of our children. As far as possible a cross-curricular, thematic approach is used to teach the core and foundation subjects. A theme is selected and applied across a year group each term. By adding this dimension to learning we are able to provide opportunities for key skills to develop across the curriculum and to cultivate creative thinking.

We aim for our curriculum to be exciting and to inspire children to nurture a passion for learning, encouraging inquisitiveness and confidence in our pupils.

During the year we have theme weeks, such as Arts Week and Design and Technology Week, which allow children to develop their skills in a more focused approach.

Take a look at our whole school curriculum overview.

Early Reading and Phonics